## SHELBY COUNTY AMBULANCE COMMISSION - November 9, 2023

The Shelby County Ambulance Commission held a meeting on Thursday, November 9, 2023, at 7:30 AM at the Myrtue Hospital Board Room.

Seven Member Commission - Voting Members:

Barry Jacobsen (Hospital CEO)

Jeanine Larsen (Hospital Board representative)

Jay Christensen (Harlan City representative) Gene Gettys (Harlan City Administrator)
Steve Kenkel (Shelby County Bd of Sups) Neil Gross (Shelby County EMA President)

Dr. Scott Markham (Trauma Director) - arrived 8:12 AM

Also Present: Kristy Hansen (Hospital CFO), Brandon Tomjack (Baird Holm, *via phone*), Marcus Gross (County Attorney, *arrived 7:40 AM*), Alex Londo (EMA, *arrived at 7:51 AM*)

The meeting was called to order by Barry Jacobsen. Steve Kenkel made a motion, seconded by Jeanine Larsen to approve the agenda. Motion carried unanimously.

Conflicts of interest are to be stated if and when applicable. None stated.

Nomination and election of 2023/24 Officers occurred. Steve Kenkel recommended keeping the current officers and nominated Chair Barry Jacobsen, Vice Chair Jeanine Larsen, Secretary Gene Gettys. Nominations ceased. Motion was made by Steve Kenkel and seconded by Jay Christensen to appoint Barry Jacobsen as Chair, Jeanine Larsen as Vice Chair and Gene Gettys as Secretary. Motion carried unanimously.

Jeanine Larsen made a motion, seconded by Jay Christensen to approve the minutes of June 8, 2023. Motion carried unanimously.

Closed session pursuant to Iowa Code 21.5(1)(c) - to discuss strategy with counsel in matters that are presently in litigation or where litigation is imminent where its disclosure would be likely to prejudice or disadvantage the position of the governmental body in that litigation. Roll call vote for closed session at 7:35 a.m. AYES: Jacobsen, Larsen, Christensen, Gettys, Markham, Kenkel, Gross. NAYS: None. Motion carried.

Commission Member Dr. Scott Markham had to leave the meeting at 8:53 a.m.

It was moved by Steve Kenkel and seconded by Jay Christensen to end the closed session and return to open session at 9:00 a.m. Roll call vote: AYES: Jacobsen, Larsen, Christensen, Gettys, Kenkel, Gross. NAYS: None. Motion carried.

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 9:03 a.m.

Gene Gettys, Reporting Secretary

These minutes are as recorded by the Secretary and are subject to Commission approval at the next regular meeting.